Independent cost reference. Not a medical practice, not a clinic finder, not a financial advisor. Always consult a board-certified reproductive endocrinologist for personalised guidance.

Last verified: June 2026
EggFreezingCost.com
menu
US clinic directory / CDC 2022 ART data

Every US fertility clinic in the CDC file, by state

511 clinics appear in the CDC 2022 ART Services and Profiles file, and 454 of them reported offering egg cryopreservation. This directory carries what CDC published for each one: cycle volume, fertility-preservation cycles, services, and age-stratified outcomes with every CDC suppression left intact. It carries no prices, because CDC publishes none, so cost context comes from this site's own research.
Clinics in the file511454 with a clinic page, 57 listed as rows on a state page
Offer egg cryopreservation45499% of reporting clinics
ART cycles, 2022435,426CDC national total
Fertility preservation cycles40,0399.2% of all cycles
States and territories51every clinic geocoded from the CDC file

The National ART Surveillance System is the only complete, mandatory census of fertility clinic activity in the United States. Every clinic performing assisted reproductive technology is required to report, and CDC publishes the result as four linked clinic-level datasets. This directory uses the 2022 final files, the most recent complete year, and joins Services and Profiles, Summary and Success Rates on CDC's ClinicID. All three are public domain works of the US federal government.

Egg freezing sits in that data in two places. A clinic either does or does not report egg cryopreservation as a service, which is how the 454-clinic egg freezing subset here is defined. And a clinic reports the number of cycles it ran for fertility preservation, the CDC category that covers egg and embryo banking. Nationally that was 40,039 cycles in 2022, or 9.2% of all ART cycles. It includes medical preservation before cancer treatment as well as elective freezing, so treat it as the ceiling on elective volume rather than a count of it.

Suppression reaches the plain counts as well as the rates. CDC withheld the fertility-preservation cycle count at 62 of the 457 reporting clinics, because each had between one and four such cycles. Those clinics are shown here with CDC's asterisk and are left out of every state total on this site, on both sides of the division, rather than being quietly counted as zero. State preservation figures are therefore sums over the clinics that published one, and each state page says how many of its clinics were suppressed.

What the file does not contain is a success rate for egg freezing. CDC measures treatment cycles that reach an outcome, and most people who freeze eggs have not come back to use them. Medical director names and every other individual-level field in the CDC files are excluded from this directory by choice.


Clinics by state

Ordered by reported cycle volume in 2022. Counts are of clinics in the CDC file, which is not the same as clinic locations: a clinic that files as one entity may run several sites.

California97 clinics · 71,539 cycles12,383 preservation (17.8%)New York49 clinics · 67,869 cycles9,400 preservation (14.1%)Texas50 clinics · 33,825 cycles2,067 preservation (6.3%)Illinois25 clinics · 22,694 cycles2,114 preservation (9.6%)New Jersey16 clinics · 20,809 cycles1,539 preservation (7.6%)Florida27 clinics · 18,797 cycles1,043 preservation (5.8%)Maryland7 clinics · 18,313 cycles1,475 preservation (8.1%)Massachusetts8 clinics · 17,609 cycles1,147 preservation (6.6%)Pennsylvania12 clinics · 11,936 cycles791 preservation (6.7%)Colorado9 clinics · 11,373 cycles877 preservation (11%)Washington13 clinics · 10,390 cycles1,266 preservation (12.2%)Georgia12 clinics · 9,926 cycles771 preservation (8.1%)Ohio11 clinics · 9,869 cycles342 preservation (3.5%)North Carolina11 clinics · 9,004 cycles440 preservation (4.9%)Connecticut8 clinics · 8,118 cycles389 preservation (5.4%)Michigan12 clinics · 7,775 cycles325 preservation (4.2%)Virginia11 clinics · 7,645 cycles470 preservation (6.6%)Missouri10 clinics · 6,871 cycles229 preservation (3.8%)Arizona13 clinics · 6,768 cycles256 preservation (4.2%)Minnesota6 clinics · 6,471 cycles373 preservation (6%)Utah5 clinics · 5,904 cycles183 preservation (3.1%)Tennessee9 clinics · 4,935 cycles208 preservation (4.5%)Indiana8 clinics · 4,484 cycles62 preservation (1.6%)Oregon5 clinics · 4,171 cycles251 preservation (6%)South Carolina4 clinics · 4,142 cycles111 preservation (2.7%)Kansas5 clinics · 3,224 cycles78 preservation (2.4%)Nevada6 clinics · 3,121 cycles277 preservation (8.9%)Louisiana4 clinics · 3,004 cycles184 preservation (6.1%)Wisconsin6 clinics · 2,720 cycles86 preservation (3.7%)Alabama7 clinics · 2,294 cycles68 preservation (3%)Iowa2 clinics · 2,282 cycles56 preservation (2.5%)Hawaii6 clinics · 2,033 cycles70 preservation (3.7%)Nebraska2 clinics · 2,002 cycles51 preservation (2.5%)Delaware2 clinics · 1,590 cycles21 preservation (1.3%)Kentucky4 clinics · 1,184 cycles39 preservation (3.3%)Idaho1 clinic · 1,143 cycles30 preservation (2.6%)District of Columbia3 clinics · 1,043 cycles152 preservation (14.6%)Rhode Island1 clinic · 991 cycles48 preservation (4.8%)Oklahoma4 clinics · 989 cycles36 preservation (3.6%)Mississippi3 clinics · 890 cycles23 preservation (7.8%)Maine1 clinic · 811 cycles24 preservation (3%)Vermont2 clinics · 772 cycles41 preservation (5.3%)New Mexico2 clinics · 771 cycles40 preservation (8.7%)South Dakota1 clinic · 640 cycles9 preservation (1.4%)Montana1 clinic · 507 cycles23 preservation (4.5%)North Dakota1 clinic · 493 cycles9 preservation (1.8%)New Hampshire1 clinic · 488 cycles5 preservation (1%)Puerto Rico4 clinics · 432 cycles9 preservation (3.2%)West Virginia2 clinics · 417 cycles8 preservation (2.3%)Arkansas1 clinic · 293 cyclespreservation counts suppressedAlaska1 clinic · 55 cyclespreservation counts suppressed

The eight largest states in the 2022 file

StateClinicsOffer egg freezingCyclesPreservation cyclesPreservation shareTypical cycle price
California978571,53912,38317.8%$15,000 to $24,000
New York494467,8699,40014.1%$16,000 to $22,000
Texas504433,8252,0676.3%$10,000 to $15,000
Illinois252022,6942,1149.6%$12,000 to $18,000
New Jersey161420,8091,5397.6%$12,000 to $20,000
Florida272618,7971,0435.8%$10,000 to $16,000
Maryland7518,3131,4758.1%$12,000 to $20,000
Massachusetts8817,6091,1476.6%$13,000 to $19,000

Price columns are this site's own per-cycle ranges, not CDC figures. The preservation columns cover only the clinics that published a preservation count. CDC suppressed that count at 62 clinics nationally, and those clinics are excluded from both the numerator and the denominator rather than counted as zero, so no suppressed cell is used anywhere in this table.


The national 2022 picture, in CDC's own measures

CDC measure (2022)Under 3535 to 3738 to 40Over 40All ages
Total number of cycles156,645102,26789,63486,880435,426
Percentage of cycles for fertility preservation10.5%11.5%8.6%4.7%9.2%
Percentage of intended egg retrieval cycles without any eggs retrieved4.7%7.0%10.0%15.2%8.5%
Percentage of cycles discontinued after retrieval and before transfer or banking8.3%9.5%12.8%19.3%11.6%
Percentage of intended retrievals resulting in live-birth deliveries49.7%36.3%23.1%7.7%Not reported
Percentage of new patients having live-birth deliveries after all intended retrievals60.8%49.9%35.2%13.4%Not reported

Transfers using donor eggs and embryos, nationally, 2022

Egg or embryo typeNumber of transfersPercentage of transfers resulting in live-birth deliveries
Fresh Embryos Fresh Eggs79152.0%
Fresh Embryos Frozen Eggs2,57645.2%
Frozen Embryos18,67845.1%
Donated Embryos3,29642.2%

Fresh Embryos Frozen Eggs is the only published CDC measure where eggs are frozen, thawed and then fertilised. It covers donor eggs rather than a patient's own, and donor eggs come from young, screened donors, so it is the best case rather than the average case.

How to read these numbers

Not a league table

A clinic's published success rate is driven as much by which patients it accepts as by how well it treats them. A clinic that takes on older patients, patients with diminished ovarian reserve, or patients who have already failed cycles elsewhere will report lower rates than a clinic that treats a younger, easier case mix, whatever the quality of its laboratory. CDC stratifies by patient age for exactly this reason, and still warns that comparing clinics on these figures can be misleading. Read them as a description of a clinic's caseload, not as a ranking.

Suppression and small numbers

CDC suppresses any cell built on a reported sample size of 1 to 4, and also suppresses cells that could be used to work a suppressed value back out. That applies to plain counts as well as to rates: 62 clinics in the 2022 file have their fertility-preservation cycle count withheld. Suppressed cells appear here exactly as CDC published them, shown as * or as a fraction with a suppressed numerator such as */17. Where a rate has a denominator under 20, CDC prints a fraction such as 8/15 instead of a percentage; those fractions are passed through unchanged. This site never estimates a suppressed value and never reconstructs one from surrounding figures.

These are 2022 treatment outcomes, the most recent final clinic-level year CDC has published. Egg freezing itself sits in the CDC data as fertility-preservation cycles and as egg cryopreservation on the services return; CDC does not publish a live-birth rate for elective egg freezing, because most people who freeze eggs have not yet come back to use them. Nothing on this page is a price quote, an endorsement, or medical advice.


Cost, which the CDC file does not carry

The CDC files record activity and outcomes and nothing about price. Every cost figure on this site comes from separate work: published clinic price pages, FertilityIQ and Cofertility regional data, and state mandate texts. A single cycle runs roughly $12,000 to $20,000 all in nationally, with medications the largest swing factor, and storage after the first year adds $500 to $1,000 a year for as long as the eggs stay frozen.

Detailed per-state pricing exists for 12 states, each with its own mandate analysis. Everywhere else, the state pages in this directory carry the national range as context.


Questions about the CDC clinic data

How many US fertility clinics offer egg freezing?

454 of the 511 clinics in the CDC 2022 ART Services and Profiles file reported offering egg cryopreservation. CDC records the service as offered or not offered on each clinic's annual return, and puts the national figure at 99% of reporting clinics. It is close to universal: only three reporting clinics in the 2022 file said no.

How many egg freezing cycles happen in the US each year?

CDC recorded 40,039 fertility-preservation cycles in 2022, out of 435,426 ART cycles in total, which is 9.2%. Fertility preservation is the CDC category covering egg and embryo banking. It includes elective egg freezing but also covers medical preservation before cancer treatment and embryo banking, so it is an upper bound on elective egg freezing rather than a count of it.

Can I use CDC success rates to pick a fertility clinic?

Not directly. A clinic's reported success rate reflects which patients it accepts as much as how well it treats them: a clinic that takes older patients, patients with diminished ovarian reserve, or patients who have already failed cycles elsewhere will report lower rates than one with an easier case mix. CDC stratifies by patient age for exactly this reason and still warns against ranking clinics on these figures. Use them to understand a clinic's caseload, then ask the clinic directly about outcomes for patients like you.

Why do some numbers show as an asterisk or a fraction?

CDC suppresses any cell built on a reported sample size of 1 to 4, and also suppresses cells that could be used to derive a suppressed value. Those appear as * or as a fraction with a suppressed numerator such as */17. Where a rate has a denominator under 20, CDC prints a fraction such as 8/15 instead of a percentage. This site passes both through exactly as CDC published them and never estimates the hidden value.

Does the CDC publish a success rate for egg freezing?

No. CDC publishes outcomes for treatment cycles, not for eggs put into storage, because most people who freeze eggs have not yet returned to use them. The closest published figure is the live-birth rate for transfers made from frozen donor eggs, which CDC labels Fresh Embryos Frozen Eggs: nationally 45.2% of those transfers resulted in a live-birth delivery in 2022. Read it as evidence that vitrified eggs work, not as a personal probability. For that, see the age-by-age math.

Are UK clinics included in this directory?

No. This directory is US only. The UK equivalent would be HFEA clinic data, and the HFEA does not publish it under a reuse licence: its website and social media user guidelines reserve all rights in HFEA data and require prior permission for any publication beyond fair use. So the UK cost page stays as written analysis with citation rather than a republished clinic list.

Primary sources
  1. [41] 2022 Final Assisted Reproductive Technology (ART) Services and Profiles (dataset ix4g-rt8v) to Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Reproductive Health, 2022 reporting year, published December 2024; public domain. https://data.cdc.gov/d/ix4g-rt8v
  2. [42] 2022 Final Assisted Reproductive Technology (ART) Summary (dataset 9tjt-seye) to Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National ART Surveillance System (NASS), 2022 reporting year, published December 2024; public domain. https://data.cdc.gov/d/9tjt-seye
  3. [43] 2022 Final Assisted Reproductive Technology (ART) Success Rates (dataset cchw-gdwa) to Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National ART Surveillance System (NASS), 2022 reporting year, published December 2024; public domain. https://data.cdc.gov/d/cchw-gdwa
  4. [8] ART Success Rates: National Summary Report to Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 2022 data, published 2024. https://www.cdc.gov/art/reports/2022/national-summary.html
  5. [1] The Costs of Egg Freezing to FertilityIQ, accessed April 2026. https://www.fertilityiq.com/fertilityiq/articles/the-costs-of-egg-freezing
  6. [4] Evidence-based outcomes after oocyte cryopreservation for donor oocyte in vitro fertilization and planned oocyte cryopreservation: a guideline to ASRM Practice Committee, Fertility and Sterility, 2021. https://www.asrm.org/practice-guidance/practice-committee-documents/evidence-based-outcomes-after-oocyte-cryopreservation-for-donor-oocyte-in-vitro-fertilization-and-planned-oocyte-cryopreservation-a-guideline/
  7. [11] Insurance Coverage by State to RESOLVE: The National Infertility Association, accessed April 2026. https://resolve.org/learn/financial-resources-for-family-building/insurance-coverage/insurance-coverage-by-state/

Data: CDC ART Success Rates / NASS, 2022 file, public domain. Snapshot taken 2026-09-04.

Source files: 2022 Final ART Services and Profiles, 2022 Final ART Summary and 2022 Final ART Success Rates, published by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Reproductive Health, and linked on ClinicID. cdc.gov/art/php/data-access

Medical director names and every other individual-level field in the CDC files are deliberately excluded from this directory.